Do You Think This Will Make Al Smile?


I didn’t have much on hand, so I tried this recipe to make Al have at least one smile today.

This is a mayonnaise cake with an old recipe for the frosting.

The cake recipe is,

A chocolate mayonnaise cake, made with mayonnaise in place of eggs and oil.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Preparation:

Sift together the flour, cocoa, soda and salt. Cream together the sugar, mayonnaise, water and vanilla. Add dry ingredients to the creamed mixture; stir until well blended. Pour batter into greased and floured layer cake pans (or a 9- x 13-inch pan). Bake at 350°F. for about 25 minutes.

The frosting is one that was made by my grandma when she didn’t have the powdered sugar. I could not find the recipe, but did find one similar to it. On my own recipe, I used more vanilla, then the recipe called for, giving it the more yellow look, as I didn’t have clear vanilla. I only use clear vanilla at the holidays. Don’t ask me why only then, it is just an old habit! LOL

Flour Cake Icing
From Stephanie

This is an old flour cake frosting recipe from my Aunt Jennie. She called it Flour Icing. I’ve had it for years. I remember being at her home and she made this incredible white cake and frosted it with this fluffy yummy icing and I asked her for the recipe and like the sweetie that she was/is, she shared.

Flour Cake Icing

5 T. flour
1 cup milk
2 sticks butter, room temperature do not melt!!
1 cup sugar
1 tsp. vanilla

In saucepan, mix flour and milk over medium heat until thickened. Let cool. Meanwhile cream (room temperature) butter, sugar, and vanilla. Add cooled flour mixture to creamed butter and blend until light and fluffy.

So, after some time in the kitchen, I have the finished product. I sprinkled some red crystals on top to give it a more fun look to Al. I am hoping he will find it fun enough to look at, and then want a piece.

37 thoughts on “Do You Think This Will Make Al Smile?

    • that is the recipe i always use, but,,,,,,,i had no powdered sugar, and didn’t feel like loading up Al to go get one thing. it is good. The mao cake does not taste like mao at all. it is very moist,and the frosting is good, not heavy at all, but the one u use is also my favorite

      Like

      • I can understand how the flour acts as a thickener for the icing though, and I’m going to have to try the mayo cake. I imagine if you added some lemon juice or extract it would make a great lemon cake too. Isn’t it funny how our moms who had to live through the Great Depression have all these little tricks. My mom used to top cakes with pudding as icing. She also used pudding or jello mix to flavor a homemade cake. They both help to moisten the cake too.

        Like

      • yes, i have used puddings and applesauce in cakes too. our parents had quite a few ways of making things work. let me know if you like the cake

        Like

      • well this is true. i have read about the baking experiences. i should have thought of that first, sorry. i like to bake if people are around to eat it up, other wise, i don’t because i am so weak around sugars

        Like

      • That is the way Jk is. She has a sweet tooth the size of Texas…lol. I love to give her new experiences in cooking because she loves to cook, but it seems baking is her favorite. This will be a good lesson in what to do when you don’t have certain ingredients too. So I thank you for that.

        Like

      • no it doesn’t taste anything but soft, moist, chocolate cake. my mom and grandma made it for years and now i do also. i would normally put caramel frosting on it as my family did, but i had no powdered sugar. i use this other icing as an emergency icing. i think you will really like it and it is so easy!

        Like

  1. Chocolate mayonnaise cake? I couldn’t even PICTURE it when I read those two words together, but absolutely fantastic. I came here from visiting Viveka – I did NOT expect chocolate mayonnaise.. CAKE!

    Very unique 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve heard of what you are talking about…makes it very moist…applesauce can be used instead of oil also…way less fattening…I always used the flour frosting on red velvet cake…had to be!…so buttery and good…yes, you’ve made me want some! …and I bet Al loved it…~mkg

    Like

  3. Mayonnaise cake … you, Americans are crazy *laughing – you have to convince me about this one. I’m sure the cake taste good – if we can cut out the icing.

    Like

    • sometimes Viveka, i just sprinkle powdered sugar lightly on top. this is a very moist cake. everyone i have ever given a piece to, loves it. come on over, i cut you a piece…………….here is your plate, napkin, and fork!!!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.