Mystery Box/ The Daily Post


https://dailypost.wordpress.com

 

Mystery Box

You wake up one morning to find a beautifully wrapped package next to your bed. Attached to it is a note: “Open me, if you dare.” What’s inside the mystery box? Do you open it?

 

Christmas is better than I thought it would be. I spent the evening and night with my daughter and her family. This helped me so much. Every year for years my family would spend Christmas with my parents at their home on Christmas Eve.

My parents have been gone for some time. Mom passed in October of 2000, and dad passed in December of 2007. After Al passed this year in March, the last thing I wanted to have happen was Christmas.

No one can fix this for me. Nothing can make 2014 not pass on, taking the words of Al passed away this year and turning it into Al passed away 1, 2, or more years ago. Thankfully my memory part of my brain still functions and I can remember my parents and Al very well.

So when this topic on Daily Post came up it gave me an opportunity to live out my secret wishes. So here is my story in my mind as it plays out.

Christmas was so lonely, but only on the inside of me. I had a wonderful time with my family, but I knew something or some people were missing from my celebration. I did my best. I smiled and carried on conversations. I played with the grandchildren. I ate a wonderful meal. We shared a wonderful time; but way back in my mind I couldn’t help but keep thinking of my parents and my brother,  Al.

The evening light turned to dusk. I lit the candles and listened to Christmas music on the television.After some time, I realized how tired I was so I blew out the flames and left the music playing. I brushed my teeth and got dressed into my pajamas.

I laid in my bed my mind turning over and over as if I could ever forget the memories of mom, dad and Al. An angel must have sprinkled some angel dust over my eye lids because the next thing I knew it was daylight.

I had nothing going on and didn’t really feel like starting a new day, but my brain was thinking hot coffee. I sat up on the edge of my bed and reached down to get my slippers when I saw a beautiful box wrapped in silver and draped in gold ribbons.

There was a gift tag on it. It wasn’t signed but it did say, open me if you dare. I picked it up and noticed how light it was for such a big box. I shook it and heard nothing rattle. I wondered how it got there, but decided to open it. My curiosity got the best of me.

I carefully took the ribbons off and tried to take the paper off gently so I could save the pretty color. Once the lid was off there were three pieces of paper inside. I took them out and placed the box off to the side on the bed.

Unfolding each piece one by one tears began to fall gently down my cheeks. Then they showered my face and a smile beamed like a ray of sunlight. This is what each piece of paper said.

Dear Terry,

I know when I left this earth,  you would be sad without me, but I knew you were strong and you would make it through. I have been watching over you and I am so proud of you. You have wonderful kids and grandchildren. You took excellent care of dad and Al. You published two books. Be happy Terry. Heaven is wonderful. Mom

 

Dear Terry,

You did such a good job taking care of me Terry. I know it was tough having to listen to words from others that hurt. I know you could have had more help caring for me, but you pulled it off. I wanted to tell you all those years I didn’t go to church or read my bible, well I am glad I changed my life because heaven and God are awesome. I love you Terry. See you when you get here. Dad

 

Dear Terry,

I know you have suffered so much sis since I left. I have seen you crying when you thought no one was looking. I know you understand that I had to go. God kept telling me he could heal me of MSA. I wanted to stay with you but I wanted to heal more. I am glad you moved out of the house. I know and understand why you did it. You have a wonderful Christmas. I am not there but I am with you in spirit. Feel that soft breeze going through your hair? It is me doing it. I love you sis, Al.

christmas shot 2

2 thoughts on “Mystery Box/ The Daily Post

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.