Sunday Morning


After being here for a few months in Russellville, Kentucky; I decided to take the plunge and go to church. I went to a church I had been recommended to by different people in the vicinity. It was called the Second Baptist Church.

church_copy

401 E 2nd St,
Russellville, KY 42276

Near the intersection of E 2nd St and N Spring St

Church began at 11am with Sunday School prior. It is a pretty church. A variety of different ages I saw. Several people came up to me and said hello and shook my hand, asking my name.

That made me feel good right off the bat. I tried going to a church with Al back in Indiana for five or six weeks. No one there ever introduced themselves to us and I could not return.

I don’t remember what the minister’s name was but he was an older gentleman and his sermon was very easy to understand. There were several songs sung and I recognized most of the music.

One song really got to me with the words. I searched and searched on the internet and U-Tube for the right upbeat of the song I heard but couldn’t. I found this one I will  put on here. It is a little slower  paced but the words are the same.

The sermon today was on Repentance. I had heard last night on Dr. Charles Stanley the same topic. Today, explained it a little better. I never realized how very, very important repenting is. I learned it is not enough to be a Christian, or even say we are sorry for our sins. We must repent to finalize our sins.

Question: “What is repentance and is it necessary for salvation?”

Answer: Many understand the term repentance to mean “turning from sin.” This is not the biblical definition of repentance. In the Bible, the word repent means “to change one’s mind.” The Bible also tells us that true repentance will result in a change of actions (Luke 3:8-14; Acts 3:19). Acts 26:20 declares, “I preached that they should repent and turn to God and prove their repentance by their deeds.” The full biblical definition of repentance is a change of mind that results in a change of action.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Sunday Morning

Leave a Reply

