First Love


The cover photo on this page is a photo of two children that formed a great friendship- puppy love? For Valentine’s Day describe your first love. (Photo prompt by Marcella Leff, administrator)

You may write a poem in any style or form but it must be inspired by this picture. Post the poem only. You may post as many poems as you want but comments are counted per poem only.

Winner will be judged by the most original comments. One person can make many comments but only counts as one comment for winning at the end of the time limit. Your own comments do not count because you cannot judge your own poem.

Contest will be from February 10 until February 17, 9:30 pm. All members are invited to enter this contest. You can add your friends to join. Challenge them.

Administrators may post examples of poems but are not eligible to win.

A new prompt will be posted every week

 

Oh how my heart did beat

When I saw him from my seat.

 

I had to know his name

This was my goal to gain.

 

I heard his name be spoke

Then I felt like such a bloke.

 

My words became a mess

Any my nerves became so stressed.

 

He winked at me and said

I noticed your pretty head

 

I strained to see your face

From my seat way back in place

 

He walked me to my next class

I nearly fell upon my ass

 

He grabbed me by the hand

He helped me gently stand

 

I looked him in the eyes

There were no questioning whys

 

Our hearts they did connect

Of him I dreamed when I slept

 

We dated for the next two years

When we broke-up I shed tears

 

I will always remember him

And I still smile when I think of then.

Written by,

Terry Shepherd

02/12/2015

 

kids 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “First Love

    • Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii Rosy! So good to hear from you. I have lost a lot of followers following Al’s death. Have considered giving up blogging but couldn’t do it all together. I am writing a new book on my own pages and hopefully will be able to share it with you and others. No illness in this new book. I need to move on. You have an awesome Valentine’s Day and thank you so much for letting me know you had stopped by. Big hugs and lots of love to you

      Liked by 1 person

      • Don’t give up blogging You may have lost followers – but – keep on doing what you enjoy. Blogs change course & that’s ok. I know mine has changed quite a bit since I started. Just like life changes – I’m guessing – so do our thoughts, choices, muses…& blogs. 😉
        Best to you as you work on your new book.
        {Huge Hugs}

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Hello Terry i am sorry that i havent messaged you in a while,but time just goes by so quickly i dont know where i am most of the time.The medication i have to take just leaves me so dopey but still nothing eases the pain.My legs and right arm no longer work now,and my left arm is very weak.I can no longer sit up properly and spend most of my time in bed.I have trouble swollowing and talking. This has taken me an age to write,but your beautiful writings help me along with the love and precious care i have from my wonderful wife Marilyn.You of course know everything we are going through as you nursed AL so well and so long.Iam sorry if this brings back the hurt of losing your brother but i do not mean to do that.I love to read and your words are very beautiful so i just had to write The medics tell me that the way things are progressing i maybe have 18 months to 2 years. I am fighting very hard against this monster inside me and wont give in,even though we all know i cant win.I love Marilyn more than there are stars in the universe,and will love her until the end of time.Ihope you dont mind me messaging you .Both our hearts are always with you and always will be in everything you do.MICHAEL

    Like

    • It is so wonderful to hear from you Michael. I have thought of you often and feared something was wrong when I hadn’t heard from you. I so understand what you are going through and the stage that you are within. No matter what happens, only look in the minute you are in. Take in the beauty, joy, love and treasure everything close to you heart. My thoughts are always with you. My prayers are close behind. I love you two people. You have been a blessing in my life and a rock when life was rough with caring for my brother. Can I do anything for you? Love and hugs. Oh, thank you for letting me know about how you feel about my writing. That, alone, brings tears to my eyes as you let me know I still continue to touch people’s lives

      Like

  2. i am not a poet! you are an ardent writer and poet. i admire your ability to put pen to paper (metaphorically) speaking that is:) i admire your ability to share your heart in such a special way.

    as for my first love? aside from my son it would have to be my husband. how could you not love a man who cries at movies and when “our” song is played?

    Like

Leave a Reply

