https://www.facebook.com/events/475905072567455/

tiger and catThe cover photo on this page has a cat looking into a mirror with a lion looking out. (Photo prompt by Marcella Leff, administrator)

You may write a poem in any style or form about your public persona- who are YOU? What do YOU project to the world? Explanation about your poem is permissible. Photos with your post will be deleted. You may post as many poems as you want but comments are counted per poem only.

Winner will be judged by the most original comments. One person can make many comments but only counts as one comment for winning at the end of the time limit. Your own comments do not count because you cannot judge your own poem. Comments being counted begins on June 2nd, 9:30pm if this event was posted earlier than stated date/time.

Contest will be from June 2 until June 9, 9:30 pm. All members are invited to enter this contest. You can add your friends to join. Challenge them.

Administrators may post examples of poems but are not eligible to win. Administrators can like your poems but their comments do not count.

A new prompt will be posted every week. Winner will be posted on the main group page

COWARD IN MOTION

A coward I scream

Through tears that stream

I can’t see anything else

This was taught to myself

Through yelling and hitting

And beating and spitting

How could I possibly see more

Than a giant, black  door

Then one day you walked in

And you explained of my sin

You said it wasn’t my fault

Told me to stop and to halt

The negativity you say

Is keeping the spirit away

It took days and weeks

Until the venom did leak

It ran down my face

It spewed all over the place

Then one day I looked in the mirror

I was shocked with no fear

I saw a beautiful kitten

So wonderfully smitten

I learned I still had the fight

A strength to build up my life

I saw nothing but peace

I had a new life and lease

If it were not for you

Seeing my life through and through

I would still be crying those tears

And living solely in fear.

Written by,

Terry Shepherd

6.6.2015

 

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

