Final Days of Christmas


The Sunday  after Christmas  my girlfriend  picked me up and took me to her home, which is not too far from  Chicago . We talked all the way there and most of the evening .

The next day an ice storm arrived. This prevented us from going anywhere .  Since she lives so close to  the  Great Lakes, the winds were something  else. When I  went  outside  to smoke, I  swear if I   was fifty pounds  lighter, the winds could have picked  me up.. lol

The news weatherman  was predicting  accumulated  snow amounts for today and tomorrow .  I wanted to stay  until Thursday ,  but  I  also wanted my friend to remain safe on her trip back home from dropping  me off, so I  came home yesterday ,  Tuesday .

When I  walked through  the door, it was clear the two dogs had missed me. The eldest grandchild  said,”hi grandma,” immediately  and the baby  who is almost 2, gave me a big smile.

It was a nice welcome to me. Last evening  I decided  to have Ritz crackers with melted cheese for my bed time  snack. I  was putting the last cracker in my mouth, when a sharp  pain entered around my ear. I touched the side of my face and felt swelling.

I thought I   was  getting another gland infection .  I don’t  drink enough fluids and sometimes my saliva  glands will become infected.

These don’t  feel good and I didn’t  need this  now as I  leave for Kentucky  this Sunday. I didn’t  have issues sleeping  but when I  woke up this morning ,  I   had some pain under my cheekbone .

I tried making an appointment  with my doctor  today but  he was booked up. I ended up going to the medic clinic and he said  he didn’t  believe  I had a gland infection  nor a sinus infection .

He felt around and along with my answers  to his questions  he said I had TMJ. I  had opened my mouth wider than usual and had inflamed my jaw. He told me to take Ibuprofen  for a couple of days  and see if it gets better.

It seems to swell and become a little swollen  when I  eat. Afterwards ,  the swelling  goes back down. I feel some tingling , but he had said the nerves and muscles  are involved.

I hope this gets better, since I  leave in a few days. Since getting my teeth pulled  in October, I am sick of mouth pain, so keep your  fingers  crossed.

I am not doing anything  for New years  eve .  I don’t  drink and I don’t  want to get hit by a drunk driver, so I  am staying home .  How are the last days of your  Christmas  holiday  going ?

image

5 thoughts on “Final Days of Christmas

Leave a Reply

