I Remember


My heart aches darlin
When I wake each sunny morn
We were meant to be together
It was written when we were born.

We loved, we built a family
A girl and then a boy
I remember your sheepish grin
When you handed them their toys.

I remember the day it happened
The day you got the mail
I remember your head hung low
And you walked as if a snail.

You handed me the papers
You stared into my eyes
I read with disbelief
That you would say goodbye.

I watched you climb the bus
I tried to be so strong
I held the babies tight
As I sang a soft, soft song.

I remember the day it happened
When the telephone voice did say
That you wouldn’t be coming home
You died for victory in the U.S.A.

Written by,
Terry Shepherd
03/29/2016

cowboy

Leave a Reply

