Motivation


I am listening to Joyce Meyers right now and she is speaking on Motivation. For the first time since my brother has passed, I have lost my motivation for anything.

It is a sad thing to actually place a name on my feelings. For two years, I have thought of many reasons why I am not writing as  much as I used to. I sleep much more often, I use my camera still quite a bit, but not as much as my heart desires.

I know I miss seeing my kids and grandchildren. I live in one part of the world, and I get to see family and grandchildren. I return to my home town and I get to see the other kids and grandchildren; but not as much as I would like  to.

How can I say, as much as I would like to?

Who’s stopping me from doing what I want? I think a better phrase is what is stopping me. Motivation, what a powerful word.

I don’t know anyone who doesn’t do something without a goal. We work, because a paycheck comes, and if we are lucky, we like our jobs. We go to the grocery store, because we want to eat. We pay our bills, so we can have a place to live.

There is a nagging at my mind as I write this. Do I need professional help, or is this the remains of losing my parents and brother.

I am not sure and even if inside my gut I am sure; what will I do about it.

Is depression and motivation the same? I do believe I get depressed at times because I can’t walk very well anymore. I don’t have the energy I used to. The truth is, I can’t kick the Parkinson’s away, but I need to get another goal going.

It isn’t enough to notice all God’s beauty. It isn’t enough to say thank-you to God for allowing me to wake up one more day. I need to get motivated, and LIVE each day, not just sit and notice.

 

Thanks for reading this post. It may seem wired wrong or you may be thinking; where is she coming from; but for me, I am actually relieved I have come across the correct noun describing me for the last several months.

 

mo·ti·va·tion
ˌmōdəˈvāSH(ə)n/
noun
noun: motivation; plural noun: motivations
  1. the reason or reasons one has for acting or behaving in a particular way.
    “escape can be a strong motivation for travel”
    synonyms: motive, motivating force, incentive, stimulus, stimulation, inspiration, inducement, incitement, spur, reason;

    informalcarrot
    “his motivation was financial”
11 thoughts on “Motivation

  1. I think you also have as they say “limiting beliefs” (read some books about it- or google it) – and knowing you have Parkinsons, you put this into the front of your mind. You can still do many things and you need to get out. Find regular groups near you and meet people. you are a people’s person, get out and talk. there are groups who do things, use the internet and find something around you and go regularly. Family is not everything, friends and making friends is important. You are a lovely amazing lady, you can do more than you think.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I could be that your attention is too focused on the losses rather than the options for joy as Utesmile has said; but I also think you are suffering from depression. I have to deal with it from time to time, and I have learned that it’s never wise to try and manage it alone. Like you, I am single, so we can fall prey to this insidious disorder faster than others with close friends, room mates that they are close to or family members who live with us. See your doctor and mention that you no longer look forward to things you used to have a passion for. Ask for help.

    Be willing to consider changing some medications that may be prompting the depression, too. You may find that the fog of inaction will clear once you have done this.

    Keep everyone else in the loop: family and even here. Your journey will bless someone else who hesitates to admit they are in a pit of sluggishness and a fog of inactivity.

    Huggerz.

    Like

  3. Motivation is a good word…but, I have found that “I” have to be the one to do it for myself…
    This past year has been a bummer for sure …I have lost interest…gained weight…my health was getting bad…”I knew it!”…
    so I prayed for help for “me”…”I” was put in the front for awhile…
    I went to Dr. and got check up…”not good”… Thyroid… a gland at the base of the neck that produces hormones which affect growth, development, and the rate at which the body uses energy… got low!…Cholesterol… having too much cholesterol in your blood can lead to serious medical problems such as heart attacks and strokes…got high!… having to get B-12 shots… 3 over 3 months…then rechecked…
    If that isn’t enough to wake “me” up and make me get up and go…be with friends…talk to people…get back to my water aerobics…
    so…maybe we all need motivation at times…This was just my motivation!

    Like

    • I understand what you are saying. I think one thing that would help me is moving back to my home town, where I have friends and family. Where I live is nice, but nothing here. Thanks for sharing with me. I know about the health issues for sure and it seems that my health declines as long as I stay in this mode. I hate it, and am trying so hard to climb out

      Like

Leave a Reply

