Soft Touch


A Small, Little Animal Keeps Me Sane


How can a small, little animal, that can’t speak or scream keep myself sane? It’s true, I am not lying.

Each day I struggle to walk, to stand-up straight. Each morning I spend in my Bible. I watch Joyce Meyers. Each morning, I pray. I ask God to show me how to help someone else. I ask God to shine his light through me. I ask God what can I do for you today, Lord.

 

I try to get down to the coffee hour before lunch. I share tidbits of what my plans are or what I did the night before. I try to look the best I can before leaving my apartment.

Many times I walk into what I have nicknamed, “The Gossip Room.” It is sad. I don’t spend as much time as I used to, but I continue to go. Who knows, maybe God can use me in that room.

I eat lunch and share non-important chat with my table partners. I listen to what is happening for the rest of the day and make plans to attend if it interest me. As for today, the farm market truck is going to be here at 2. At 2:30, there will be an auction for which we use our Tiger bucks we have earned by attending other meetings to bid on things. This is sometimes not that much fun. Let me explain.

People where I live at are poor in money. You have to be, in order to live here. Most get food stamps; but that can be a joke. For example, I get food stamps, 15 dollars per month. It pays for my coffee and creamer. The rest of the month most of us wait on handouts from pantries, and some save some of our lunches for our suppers in our apartments. Other times there are carry ins on different floors. We each bring a dish and then we all pig out. If there are left-overs, some of us take it home. This is one topic, food, which we all understand and help each other out.

So when these auctions come up, things like paper towels, toilet papers, snacks etc, are high- priced things most of us can not afford. With the Tiger dollars we have earned, a roll of toilet paper can auction as high as 25 dollars. This is sad and yet there is great whistles and delight when someone wins the prize they need so badly.

After the activities are over, I usually nap. Unless there is a church dinner or carry-in happening, most of us dine alone in our apartments. The evening is over. We either watch TV, or listen to our music. When the weather is  nice, some of us sit on our walkers or provided benches and chat until dusk.

Then we are alone for the night. We pray we will be given the gift of breath the  next morning. I watch my shows, maybe read my Bible again, sometimes my kids will text or call, or a friend will check in on me.

You remember how I mentioned the small, tiny animal, keeping me sane?

Yes, my hamster, Hammy.  When I walk into my apartment door the last walk of the evening. She is awake. She hears me as soon as the door opens. She stands up and comes to the edge of the cage, looking at me. She is waiting for her piece of cheese. I give it to her. While she nibbles it, she stares at me in love. She listens to my utter chatter. She doesn’t degrade me, or argue with me. She just plain loves me. It is nice. She doesn’t look at me strangely, as I weeble-wobble. She doesn’t question why I walk funny. She keeps me smiling. She keeps me sane. She keeps my hope up that I will make it to another day. I love this little fur-ball.4-fat-brown-hamster-animal-photography

 

JoyceMeyer_2016_FI3_600

GRAPE SALAD


GRAPE SALAD
1/2 cup sugar
8oz. cream cheese softened
8oz. sour cream
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
2lb. green grapes
2lb. red seedless grapes
whip together sugar, cream cheese, sour cream

add shredded cheese

stir in grapes

place all in a 9×13 pan. press down solidly.
top with 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup
chopped pecans

make the night before, chill

 

I ate this the first time at a church dinner. I fell in love with it. I have eaten it twice since then at other functions and hopefully will enjoy this tomorrow at another church dinner. You should make and try this!!!

MOCK SWISS STEAK


MOCK SWISS STEAK

3 lb hamburger
1/3 cup finely chopped onion
2 eggs
1 cup bread crumbs for later
1/3 cup flour
1/2 t. salt
1/4 cup ketcup
1/4 cup water
1 can mushrooms undrained
2 cans cream of mushroom soup
1 heaping T. cornstarch
1 cup water

Mix hambuger and ingredients including water.

Pat evenly into a jelly roll pan and refrigerate
over night.

Cut into serving size squares and brown on both
sides.

Place in jelly roll pan and cover with the rest of
ingredients.

Bake at 300 degrees for 45 minutes.
Turn oven down 20 250 degrees. Continue baking
for one hour

Play it Again Sam


We need our heart in more ways than one

It plays an important role

We really take it all for granted

How it affects our life and soul.
Blood pumping through our veins

The beating we can feel

We love, we cry, we jump with joy

It deflates when sorrow steals.
Broken pieces, scattered tears

Lie shining on my lap

I pray for healing from shattered days

Put my heart together and my smile back.
Written by my feelings, 

Terry Shepherd