Ataxia


It has been over two weeks since I finished my medication for my bronchitis. I still have that nagging cough remaining but can tell it is getting better. I went to the hospital and had my MRI. It was a real experience.

The machine took up the entire room. It reminded me of a big flying saucer and all white. There was a large table with lights and there were lots of magnets. It took some time for the tech to position me exactly how  he wanted me.

Wedges placed between my legs to lift them, between my arms so nothing touched anything and under my neck. My head was wrapped inside a plastic thing that looked like an over-sized football helmet and a cloth was placed over my eyes. All I saw was darkness.

After I was rolled under the lights, I heard rumbles or vibrations. These were making the neurons in my brain bounce in all directions. The rumbles went at different speeds and tones and was measured. Each set lasted three minutes and the entire process took a little over half an hour.

The conclusion came back clear. It doesn’t really mean anything to come back clear. Many neurological testings show nothing but yet we can all see there is definitely something going on.

I have my choice to go next to Cleveland Clinic for more testing. I can’t make up my mind but I’m leaning on the not going. I already know I have Ataxia. I have every symptom, so why waste more money on finding nothing.

Many MSA patients like my brother never found anything positive. The symptoms are what really told the diagnosis. I fit into this category also.

I have an appointment with my Science of Neurology doctor May 3rd. I will tell him about my MRI and my new symptoms.

I am progressing in my weakness and unsteadiness. My newest symptom is a little hard to explain. I walk a straight line but while walking my body drifts off to the right. Sort of weird but I have had it going on now a little over a week. I guess I will make my decision based on what this neurologist says.

Neurology is so mysterious. Everything happens within the brain. Nothing definite is usually found until after death testing. I just make up my mind to go for today. Hope for the best and do the best I can.

4 thoughts on “Ataxia

  1. MRI’s are noisy things, but they really give definition to what your body has going on. The MRI is less invasive than a CAT scan, though it may provide more information when they use contrasts.

    I don’t blame you for pausing to consider just leaving it where it is, if there isn’t any real hope for therapeutic options for betterment, rather than simply palliative care, and confirmation of what you already know from the symptoms.

    I hope you got to enjoy some of the lovely days we’ve had before the icky stuff arrived, and that it blessed you with the hope of Springtime blossoms coming soon. Huggerz.

    Like

    • I enjoy part of my day and I am finding myself in more pain daily so am talking to God. He can help me through this. We are only getting rain showers, no snow. Yeah! What about you? Snow or rain?

      Like

  2. I have never had a MRI and have never seen the machine. It sounds like quite the experience. I’m sorry it didn’t give more indication of what is happening in your system. But I’m glad you can take it all to the Lord and find hope in Him. God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It isn’t uncommon for MRI’s or any test to show nothing on the brain. I think most doctors (Neurologist) go on our symptoms and then throw us into a category. I have similar symptoms to my brother and yet I don’t have that disease. I have no choice but to accept and pray that God leads me through this and for as long as I can take care of myself. After that point, I hope he calls me home.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.