How Many More Labels?


Ataxia is a degenerative disease of the nervous system. Many symptoms of Ataxia mimic those of being drunk, such as slurred speech, stumbling, falling, and incoordination. These symptoms are caused by damage to the cerebellum, the part of the brain that is responsible for coordinating movement.




Parkinsonism is any condition that causes a combination of the movement abnormalities seen in Parkinson’s disease — such as tremor, slow movement, impaired speech or muscle stiffness — especially resulting from the loss of dopamine-containing nerve cells (neurons).


dys·to·ni·a
/dəˈstōnēə/

Learn to pronounce

nounMEDICINE

a state of abnormal muscle tone resulting in muscular spasm and abnormal posture, typically due to neurological disease or a side effect of drug therapy.
Involuntary muscle contractions that cause repetitive or twisting movements.
Dystonia may affect one or more parts of the body, and sometimes the entire body. The condition can be mild or severe.
The main symptom is involuntary muscle contractions that result in slow repetitive movements, cramps, or abnormal posture.
Treatments may include drugs, injections, and physical therapy.


I have each of these diagnosis. Sometimes I am amazed at how I get through the days but I do with God’s help.

I had my appointment with my neurologist this past Friday. He said my voice is softer and my words flow less easily. My falls are about the same but my swallowing and choking has greatly increased.

I had tried taking a medication last year that was for Parkinson’s but it made a zero difference so was taken off. My balance is worse and I can’t carry things in my hands if I want to also walk.

He has now added a new diagnosis probability to my list. I feel like I just have some of what my brother and father had, not a lot like they had, but a bit of each. To me, this is like an umbrella which is holding all of these symptoms, except this time what my brother had was included, which was Multiple System Atrophy.

I have to have a new swallow and choking test done and I am being sent to I.U. University in Indianapolis, Indiana. The appointment is for September 9th, 2020.

The new diagnosis included is Parkinson’s Plus.

https://www.webmd.com/parkinsons-disease/parkinsons-plus-syndromes#1

Multiple System Atophy

Multiple System Atrophy

This affects what’s known as your autonomic nervous system, which controls things like your blood pressure and digestive system. Symptoms can include things like fainting, losing control of your bladder, and constipation. It also causes more typical Parkinson’s symptoms, like shaking, stiffness, and problems with balance or speech.

I just want everything narrowed down to a one or two diagnosis or I’ll go nuts trying to figure out which kind of day I am having. lol