There is Life


 THERE IS LIFE

When we think of life

We think of people

Those around us daily

Family and friends

Where there is life

There is love

Strong enough to

Bond forever more

I had a plant of Al’s

A funeral plant

One which needed new growth

Carefully I placed it in a new house

I gently placed soil and food

It rebelled, leaves drooped

Breaking heart I touched its leaves

I spoke softly to it as a new babe

I asked God to heal it

For three days I

Poured my love into it

Today, God answered

The love for Al

The prayers to God

Brought new life

Leaves stood up

My heart bloomed

When I knew in a  heartbeat

Where there is love

There is life.

Written by,

Terry Shepherd

4.8.2015

yellow 2

Poetry Contest


angel contestThe cover photo on this page is a picture of a sculpture of the angel of grief by William Wetmore Story in the Protestant cemetery in Rome. (Photo prompt by Marcella Leff, administrator)

You may write a poem in any style or form ONLY on anticipatory grief* (see below). Post the poem only. Explanation about your poem is permissible. No other photos. Poems with photos will be deleted. You may post as many poems as you want but comments are counted per poem only.

Winner will be judged by the most original comments. One person can make many comments but only counts as one comment for winning at the end of the time limit. Your own comments do not count because you cannot judge your own poem.

Contest will be from April 7 until April 14, 9:30 pm. All members are invited to enter this contest. You can add your friends to join. Challenge them.

Administrators may post examples of poems but are not eligible to win. Administrators can like your poems but their comments do not count.

A new prompt will be posted every week. This is the third in the death and dying series for National Poetry Month for April.

The five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance are a part of the framework that makes up our learning to live with the one we lost. These feelings are not sequential and can be alternating.

*Anticipatory grief can be about the dying person or the significant others’ experience. Sometimes anticipatory grief is harder because it is before the lost/death.

 

POETRY CONTEST

He lay there quiet

Not being able to move

His lungs moving up and down

Tears flowing from his eyes

He knew, I knew, his time was near

Had I said everything I wanted to say?

Were my efforts at comfort enough?

No longer able to speak his mind

I soon discovered we didn’t need words

We only needed to look into each others eyes

To know there was  a deep sibling love

Silence speaking loud and clear

Emotional hugs filling the air

Hearts reaching out one to  another

A love that will never be forgotten.

Written by,

Terry Shepherd

4.8.2015