Overload Alert/ The Daily Post


http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/overload-alert/#like-89961

“Everybody gets so much information all day long that they lose their common sense.” — Gertrude Stein
Do you agree?

 

I don’t think it has anything to do with common sense how we each take in so much information. I believe some of it has to do with our heritage. Maybe where we live, big cities or rural areas. What opportunities were available as far as schooling was concerned.

Even our friends and family can determine how we handle information. Do we have someone to discuss it with? Is it like surfing through a magazine; do we see it but do not take it in.

Do we all comprehend at the same pace? I know for me, Al, my brother and I had one thing in common. Comprehension was a terrible area for Al and in some areas for me it is a struggle.

I can not learn anything it seems by reading an instruction book. I could read it over and over and learn very little. Sometimes looking at diagrams can  help me some but, hands on for me is the best way I learn.

I went to college and took some classes. I made good grades but how much better could I have done without the lectures and more physical class time activities. So, I think we as humans get the information that pertains to our interests. The words that perk our ears up. I think we are all capable of handling information, just at different rates of speed and for different reasons. Thank-you for reading my opinion.rubik cube

6 thoughts on “Overload Alert/ The Daily Post

  1. It took me a long time to master a Rubik cube, but then it takes me a long time to take in shape and form to make an accurate drawing, with reading and words it’s different… We are all wired a little differently to other persons. It never fails to amaze me how quickly some Autistic children grasp some things, and the amazing skills of special needs children with art and music. I suspect you got to grips with word press much more quickly than I did!

    Like

    • I have always observed that when God allows a child to be born with a disability, he gives them another way of expressing themselves. Some of high intelligence, some are very artistic. If God didn’t give them this special blessing, they would disappear into the woodwork. You and I, we have our own gifts and we display them in the way we know how. To let you in on a secret, my brother who was mentally challenged could always put together a Rubik cube, while I on the other hand have not been able to do it one time. Hugs my friend

      Like

  2. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Full To The Gills” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.