Another Break? Yes!


How can one person pack up a house for two months,  little by little and still be packing today? Well, I don’t really know, but I do know I am that one person. I think I am worn down.

When I took care of my father I did a great job. I handled a 60 hour week and was also at my dad’s beck and call. With my brother I kept up with the constant changes; but I will tell you this, the last four months of  his life did me in.

I have never seemed to bounce back with energy. I am tired all the time. I don’t sleep well at nights any longer since Al is gone. I know this is one big problem. I need regulated sleep. I have to stay at my daughter’s home for a few days when I move and I bet I sleep like a baby at nights, because there will be someone else in the house besides myself.

I wake up before it is dawn. I try to stay awake all day but I can’t, I am too pooped. I have to take a nap. It doesn’t help either that my stability is slipping just a little. I feel like I am walking sideways, but no one notices much but me and my doctor. I already don’t like this Parkinson’s Disease. I don’t have time for it, to be honest.

My feet burn 24/7 but feel like fire when I am on them too long. I guess this is another reason I am still packing things up. I like my inner self much better than the body self. It sucks getting older and being Diabetic along with Parkinson’s Disease.

Who should I blame? No one really. Out of love I cared for my dad and brother. I wouldn’t change a thing if I could go back. I got wore out. I set myself up for medical problems to come sooner than later.

Of course I am taking a 100th break again by writing to all of you because my feet burn so bad. I have my bedroom completely done and am starting to pack the overnight bag for my daughter’s home.

I have the bathroom cleaned out except the toilet paper, toothbrush and toothpaste. You can see what is important to me in the bathroom area, right? I have 99% of my kitchen cupboards all emptied.

Al’s room is boxes galore. The other bathroom has my hair junk and hairdryer. So now I am looking around at my living room and I think, I wish I was at a nice country setting with a beautiful pond, laying on a soft blanket, staring out at nature.

Well, break is over. I am sure I will be back to the computer within an hour. Talk to you later.

pond

Do You Want to Voice Your Opinion?


I heard on the early news this Saturday morning that an elementary student was disciplined for sharing his lunch with another student. My mouth dropped and my eyes probably bugged out as my daughter says they do when I am upset.

I have stated in a few of my posts that our world is no longer the country of Love they neighbor as thyself. I believe we are more a ME world, and what can you do for me. It is sad. I don’t believe this is the purpose of why we were born.

Not bringing any politics or religions into this post I still believe that gathering in groups and number; watching out for each others backs; and treating others as we would also like to be treated can be the Golden Rule of life.

What are we teaching a youngster when we punish him for sharing? Nothing less than what I stated above. So sad, just terrible in my opinion.

It used to be in our country and still remains in some areas of the world that when parents become old, the children take care of the parents. Sort of like a pay it forward moment. After all most parents spent a good part of their younger days trying to raise children into good adults.

Today, it is not done so easy. Times are different. I realize this. Economy is off-balance. Work is hard to find. Work is harder on the body as many try to do the job of more than one person as companies keep down-sizing to hold on to a few more dollars. Not all grown children can afford to care for their elderly parents, even if their hearts and hands want to.

When my brother was in the nursing home those short, six months, I was able to observe and get to know quite a few of the residents. I was a little surprised at how many had siblings and families in the same area, but here this lonely person sat, trying to make each day pass.

I heard stories from their mouths on the lonliness they felt and how they wish the good Lord would just take them home. With the child who shared his lunch and then was reprimended, what do you think the chances are that he will look after his parents when they are aged? You already know my thoughts, what are yours on this topic?

uptown2