The kid in me


I had a pretty good day today until about an hour ago. I decided to make a Miracle Whip cake. Have you ever made one before?

Salad Dressing Chocolate Cake

Salad Dressing Chocolate Cake

Rated as 4.58 out of 5 Stars
  • Prep

  • Cook

  • Ready In

Recipe By:ynathan85
“A cake that uses creamy salad dressing, who would have thought?!”

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup creamy salad dressing (such as Miracle Whip(R))
  • 1 cup lukewarm water

Directions

  1. Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9×13 inch baking dish.
  2. Mix flour, sugar, baking soda, vanilla extract, cocoa powder, creamy salad dressing, and water in a large bowl. Pour into the greased baking dish.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, about 30 minutes. Cool in the pans for 10 minutes before removing to cool completely on a wire rack.
They are so easy to make and use no eggs! I put a Peanut Butter caramel frosting that I make on top and there you have it.
I put the cake batter in the oven and in less than five minutes; I had a burning headache like I had not had in some time. The burn, oh wow, the burn. I instantly got tired and felt a little sick; but I could do nothing but wait or burn the cake and the house down.
I took something that usually helps. By now it is better but not gone yet. I didn’t lay down, only because it is later in the evening and don’t want to spend all night awake, so here I am online.
Let’s switch gears now. I saw a grasshopper today. I hear the crickets in the evenings. Summer will be gone before we know it and the chill in the air will be welcomed by me and all of the photos I can grab of the awesome changing of the colors of the trees. Here in Indiana it is a beautiful stage setting.
That sends my mind to Halloween. Yes, it is too early. Where I live I only have one giant, electric Jack-O-Lantern. Part of me wants to get it out and plug it in; but I will wait. I wouldn’t be surprised though if I put him out in September. Who says I have to wait until October? I can do what I want sometimes, can’t I?
I may be older. I may weeble-wobble and walk slow. I may talk softer and get terrible headaches but; there’s still a kid in me. I get excited at the decorations at Halloween and Christmas.
Okay, well this concludes my thoughts for a plain, old Thursday, August, 09/2018. Now back to babying my headache and resting. Night my friends.
Signing out,
Terry

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.