The kid in me


I had a pretty good day today until about an hour ago. I decided to make a Miracle Whip cake. Have you ever made one before?

Salad Dressing Chocolate Cake

Salad Dressing Chocolate Cake

Rated as 4.58 out of 5 Stars
  • Prep

  • Cook

  • Ready In

Recipe By:ynathan85
“A cake that uses creamy salad dressing, who would have thought?!”

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup creamy salad dressing (such as Miracle Whip(R))
  • 1 cup lukewarm water

Directions

  1. Preheat an oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9×13 inch baking dish.
  2. Mix flour, sugar, baking soda, vanilla extract, cocoa powder, creamy salad dressing, and water in a large bowl. Pour into the greased baking dish.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, about 30 minutes. Cool in the pans for 10 minutes before removing to cool completely on a wire rack.
They are so easy to make and use no eggs! I put a Peanut Butter caramel frosting that I make on top and there you have it.
I put the cake batter in the oven and in less than five minutes; I had a burning headache like I had not had in some time. The burn, oh wow, the burn. I instantly got tired and felt a little sick; but I could do nothing but wait or burn the cake and the house down.
I took something that usually helps. By now it is better but not gone yet. I didn’t lay down, only because it is later in the evening and don’t want to spend all night awake, so here I am online.
Let’s switch gears now. I saw a grasshopper today. I hear the crickets in the evenings. Summer will be gone before we know it and the chill in the air will be welcomed by me and all of the photos I can grab of the awesome changing of the colors of the trees. Here in Indiana it is a beautiful stage setting.
That sends my mind to Halloween. Yes, it is too early. Where I live I only have one giant, electric Jack-O-Lantern. Part of me wants to get it out and plug it in; but I will wait. I wouldn’t be surprised though if I put him out in September. Who says I have to wait until October? I can do what I want sometimes, can’t I?
I may be older. I may weeble-wobble and walk slow. I may talk softer and get terrible headaches but; there’s still a kid in me. I get excited at the decorations at Halloween and Christmas.
Okay, well this concludes my thoughts for a plain, old Thursday, August, 09/2018. Now back to babying my headache and resting. Night my friends.
Signing out,
Terry

Stuffed Pattypan Squash


Stuffed Pattypan Squash

Stuffed Pattypan Squash

Rated as 4.3 out of 5 Stars
  • Prep

  • Cook

  • Ready In

Recipe By:Michele O’Brien
“A wonderful way to use the over-abundance of squash from your garden. Cute pattypan squash are stuffed with a cheesy bacon stuffing, and baked. My children call these ‘Squash Volcanoes’ and gobble them up! Enjoy!”

Ingredients

  • 6 pattypan squash, stem and blossom removed
  • 6 slices bacon
  • 1/2 cup diced onion
  • 1 1/2 cups soft bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Bring one inch of water to a boil in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Add squash, cover, and cook for 10 minutes, or until a fork can pierce the stem with little resistance. Drain, and slice off the top stem of the squash. Use a melon baller to carefully scoop out the centers of the squash. Reserve all of the bits of squash.
  3. Place bacon in a large, deep skillet. Cook over medium high heat until evenly brown. Remove bacon to paper towels, and set aside. Saute onion in bacon drippings. Chop the reserved squash pieces, and saute them with the onion for one minute.
  4. Remove the skillet from heat, and stir in the breadcrumbs. Crumble the bacon, and stir into the stuffing along with the Parmesan cheese. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Stuff each squash to overflowing with the mixture, and place them in a baking dish. Cover the dish loosely with aluminum foil.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes in the preheated oven, or until squash are heated through.

Summer Garden Crustless Quiche


Summer Garden Crustless Quiche

Summer Garden Crustless Quiche

Rated as 4.73 out of 5 Stars
  • Prep

  • Cook

  • Ready In

Recipe By:Singer6
“This is one of my favorite recipes to make in the summer when the vegetable garden is offering plenty of fresh vegetables. You might want to use less kale if you prefer a more fluffy quiche.”

Ingredients

  • 1 teaspoon olive oil, or as needed
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion, minced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 5 cups chopped kale
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 grinds fresh black pepper, or to taste
  • 1 cup diced tomato
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrots
  • 5 eggs
  • 3/4 cup whole milk
  • 7 1/2 ounces shredded Cheddar cheese (such as Sargento(R) 4 State Cheddar Cheese)
  • 1/4 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9-inch pie dish with 1 teaspoon olive oil.
  2. Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a skillet over medium heat; cook and stir onion and garlic in the hot oil until garlic is fragrant, 2 to 3 minutes. Add kale, salt, and pepper; cook, stirring occasionally, until kale is wilted, about 5 minutes. Stir tomato and carrots into kale mixture; cook for 5 more minutes. Remove skillet from heat.
  3. Whisk eggs and milk together in a bowl. Stir Cheddar cheese, kale mixture, and parsley into egg mixture; pour into the prepared pie dish.
  4. Bake in the preheated oven until quiche is set in the middle and a knife inserted in the center comes out clean, about 50 minutes. Cool in pie dish for 2 to 3 minutes before slicing.