So Glad Today Is Over


Well today was the last day of training. It went on and on. It seemed like all day it was pretty much about the same topics. Clients first, and smile be happy and nice. I can do that, I guess! LOL

I didn’t get out of there at the time I hoped for. It was dark when I got home. Not pitch dark but dark enough. Scares the hell out of me, to be honest. I don’t know the street names for the most part, but do have landmarks I watch for; so when it gets dusk and beyond, I am out of luck.

The first part of the training today was bathing and bed changing. I was third in line out of nine. Everyone stayed in the room and watched others, but I was wobbling back and forth so as soon as I finished my turn, I headed for my seat.

I did learn today that the biggest percentage of clients were Alzheimer’s or Dementia. My heart sunk. I just don’t care for working with them. I have to admit my patience isn’t top-notch for this type of illness.

I have plenty of compassion but repetitiveness isn’t one of my strong points. Sometimes Alzheimer’s patients can be very mean. I have been hit, and pinched, cussed out and more. I know they can’t help it, but I don’t like being hurt. On top of that i am not in a group of staff where I can grab help, I will be alone with the client. I am still praying for another door to open for me.

Does this make sense? I sat so much today that I am tired tonight. I didn’t feel like fixing supper so I ran through the drive-thru close to my house and grabbed a carry-out supper. I was glad I did it when I arrived home, because I felt myself flop down on the couch and I didn’t want to move. I watched my recorded soap and ate supper.

The nights are getting chilly here. I am so warm when I wake up in the mornings but as soon as I hop out of bed, or should I say crawl out of bed, I feel the chill. I turn my little heater on, but I hope to be able to turn the furnace on very soon. A little bit of sealing up with the house has to be done before I start running the furnace full-time.

What did you do today? Anything interesting? I bet your day flew fast. Tell me about your day.

ARC_Talk_About_Meds_Banner_Terry1book 2

Imaginary Friend


http://dailypost.wordpress.com

Many of us had imaginary friends as young children. If your imaginary friend grew up alongside you, what would his/her/its life be like today? (Didn’t have one? write about a non-imaginary friend you haven’t seen since childhood.)

Imaginary friends? I don’t really remember having any as a child. I do remember taking my doll bed and all my dolls out side under the big oak tree. With a blanket on the ground I spent many days and hours with my friends.

I can remember having a Chatty Cathy doll, and a Thumbelina doll. I remember having plastic, little diapers, a magic milk bottle and clothes to change the dolls in. I can remember quite clearly, talking to my babies as if they were real.

Maybe they were real in my mind. Both of my parents worked full-time. Us two kids had an elderly lady who didn’t spend much time with us. I can still see her sitting in the white recliner watching TV. I would go inside and ask her to play with me but she always told me to ” go on now, run outside and play.”

Do we as young kids have that yearning to be a part of something or someone’s life, even before we understand what security actually means. Is it important to have interaction between adults and kids at an early age?

I didn’t grow up with the electronics of today. My parents were strict as far as not allowing me to run the neighborhood. I wasn’t allowed to venture off on my bike for rides of any kind. I could only ride it up and down my street as long as the view of my house could be seen.

I didn’t have a TV in my bedroom, nor did I have privileges to use the one phone in our house unless it was an emergency. Maybe I did have imaginary friends, but I could see them. My dolls, I could hold them, cradle them, sing to them. I possibly told them of my woes at that young age. After all, I knew nothing really of the world. I knew nothing of death.

My parents didn’t discuss finances with children. I think when I look back, and can remember the words of my dad, a child being brought up in my family, the goal was to be seen and not heard.

I know I had a good childhood. I was fed, dressed in clean clothes, bathed, went to Sunday School, went to grandma’s on Sunday for dinner. I was taught good manners. I had it all, but maybe I needed more emotionally. Thank goodness for dolls.

doll