Diabetes and the Lady Who Saved Me


Today I wanted to sleep in so bad, but my eyes were awake at 7. It makes me so mad because I am so tired. Yesterday I did so much that my legs were tight by early evening. To touch them hurt. After a night’s sleep they are back to normal.

I will feel better when I get a window air-conditioner. With being a diabetic, the heat makes my sugars bottom out. I got up and drank my cup of coffee and played a couple of games on FB. I fixed me a slice of toast, 2 eggs and some vanilla yogurt with sprinkles of cinnamon.

I decided to take my shower since the inside of my apartment was beginning to heat up. After dressing, I gathered my basket of dirty laundry and headed to the laundromat. I started my wash and then about 15 minutes into the wash cycle I started to feel funny.

I looked at the clock and it had only been 3 hours since I had breakfast so I shouldn’t be having any issues with low-sugars. As minutes ticked by I began to feel worse and  my legs and hands began to tremor.

I had taken my diabetic tester with me so I checked it. It was 78. Oh no, I was in trouble. It was my sugars. I had laundry in the washer. I couldn’t leave. I had a candy bar in my purse for such emergencies and hurriedly ate it. 10 minutes later I checked my sugar levels again. The numbers had not begun to rise.

Now I was frightened. There were people in the laundromat; but no one that knew me. I staggered and walked up to the counter. I said, ” I am in trouble. I am a diabetic. I have laundry in the wash and can’t leave to go get something to eat”.

She said, ” my mother was a diabetic. I just lost her a few months ago to this”. She ran to the pop machine and got me a regular Pepsi and handed it to me. I took a big drink, feeling I was going to gag, it was so sweet, but I kept drinking. Her son quickly drove to a drive-thru and brought me back a cheeseburger.

I ate that and within 20 minutes my sugar was back up. I was so scared. I don’t know if it is the constant on the go of putting things away here in the apartment, or the heat, or if my sugars need an adjustment, but something is going on. I thanked that lady and her son over and over for saving my life.

It took a couple of hours for the tired feeling to leave me completely. When I am weak, my Parkinson’s tremors start acting up and that took awhile to get under control. I was glad to be back home, where it was safe. I do know I need that air conditioner.

I am still hanging things on the walls and am down to the spare bedroom. One of these days soon I will be finished unpacking. Maybe I should get one of those Diabetic bracelets so people will have a better idea of what is going on in case I pass out. I do know that I was being watched over by God. He had that lady standing close by who knew what diabetes is.