Feeling The Love


Maybe when you are more within your walls you stretch farther for the little joys. Or it could be that since my father passed my faith has grown. What ever the reason I cried tonight. Not because of sadness, but because of love and joy.

Al has really been struggling with tremors. One of the  differences  between Parkinson’s Disease and M.S.A. with tremors is that with PD, tremors tend to fade away in the final stages. With M.S.A. tremors become worse.

This is where Al is right now. Brushing his teeth is a good example. Try to picture this. The battery operated toothbrush is loaded and running. It is in your hand. Your hand is in mid-air. The tremors are so bad that the toothpaste is being shaken off the toothbrush, and the hand can not be stopped. Therefore the once independent act of brushing your teeth is now over. You cry because you are so embarrassed. You can remember when you always brushed your own teeth with no one’s help. This is just one of many things that Al struggles with.

But today, although he had bad tremors all day long, he still thought of me. Through stuttering and a very soft voice he was trying to explain to  me that with the help of school teachers in Day Program he had made me a gift.

A gift? for me? from my brother? Oh wow, I was excited and I did nothing to hide my excitement from him as I dug into his back pack to find the prize. When I pulled it out, Al raised his head just long enough to see my face.

I beamed at him and I put my arms around him and told him, ” I love you so much Bud. This is the best gift I ever got. I will treasure it always and I will put it where I can see it every day.”

I saw a slight smile. I meant every word I said to him, I will treasure it.

 

Open your eyes that you might see

What God has gifted you and me

It doesn’t have to be a three-story house

It can even be smaller than a little mouse

For although the body can no longer move

The heart is still feeling and in the groove.

Written by , Terry Shepherd

08/20/2013

Here is what he made me today.

dream

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

book4

25 thoughts on “Feeling The Love

  1. What a beautiful beautiful gift from Al’s heart…never doubt his love for you. You have the best brother and sister relationship it is blessed by God above that is for sure. Prayers and hugs my dear one.

    Like

  2. What a beautiful gift, which shows his love and appreciation for his sister. This is something to treasure forever. I understand you cried for joy, i did too! Much love Terry!

    Like

  3. Pingback: We Have to Stop Meeting So Late Like This | terry1954

  4. Pingback: I Can Never Say Thank-You Enough to My Friends | terry1954

  5. My dad was also diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease.his symptoms were shuffling of feet,slurred speech,degradation of hand writing, horrible driving skills, right arm held at 46 degree angle, things were tough for me, but now he finally free from the disease with the help of total cure from ULTIMATE LIFE CLINIC, he now walks properly and all symptoms has reversed, he was having trouble with balance especially at night, getting into the shower and exiting it is difficult,getting into bed is also another thing he finds impossible.we had to find a better solution for his condition which really helped him a lot,the biggest helped we had was ultimate life clinic they walked us through the proper steps,i recommended this http://www.ultimatelifeclinic.com to anyone who also needs help.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.