Blood Everywhere


When I got Al off the bus I saw blood on his fingers. The driver said he must have done it while she was driving. When I got him in the sunlight I could see he had done some heavy-duty picking to his forehead.

I took him inside and cleaned him up and finished preparing dinner. When I glanced back at him there was blood pouring down his glasses and side of his face. He had put his hands in it so I had mess number two to clean up.

This time I put a piece of gauze and a band-aid over the injured area and went back to wash my hands and continue with supper. Thank goodness it was an easy supper tonight. Baked fish with baked french fries, cottage cheese topped with pineapple. Dessert was already made as you saw from my prior post.

I turned to look at him to make sure all was well and the gauze and band aid was soaked. Now it has been an hour since he got off the bus. I felt I had no choice but to call Hospice. Upon the call I was told she was with another patient and would call me on her way up.

The office is an hour from our house. I knew it wasn’t an emergency but still he had been bleeding for some time now. Due to the fact he takes blood thinners and can’t hold his head up were making things worse.

We went ahead and ate supper between me changing out covered ice-cube patches and then the phone rang. The nurse who was to come had to go to an emergency on another patient that was struggling with breathing.

Of course go to them, this is not an emergency. Hopefully this will subside on its own. I ask the triage nurse if I could lay him down and she said yes. I changed his brief and the entire time I have him in his room he is yelling, ” I am stupid, I am a failure, you may as well toss me in the trash.”

I told him to stop. I told him that was foolish talk and it upsets me when he talks this way. He kept on going. I was forced to give him one of his emergency pills. It still hasn’t taken effect but his room is quiet.

I am going to go back and check the bleeding spot. Maybe I can tell the nurse she doesn’t need to come. Maybe the bleeding has stopped.nurse

Recipes, Photos And A Funny Video


Although Al is 58 years old he has the mind of an older child. I am constantly looking at ways to make his food more interesting.

The best way I get him to eat is make it appealing as if I am making if for a nine or ten-year old.

Today, I spent some time in the kitchen creating. I use my imagination, add here, change this or that, and hopefully I create some fun tasting foods that he will eat.

He has always been a big, big eater but with his illness there are plenty of days that he doesn’t want to eat and I force him by my creations or he will only eat part of what I fix.

Here is what I did today.

I took some graham cracker crumbs that I had in my cupboard. I tossed some butter in the microwave. Threw both of these into a 9×13 pan and stirred and patted. Next, I had the cheapest, generic brownie mix the store offers. I added the one egg, and the one-third cup of oil. Then I was to add two teaspoons of water but I held off on that for a moment.

I mixed to the egg and oil mixture, or should I say tossed, I don’t measure out the added items, chocolate chips, coconut, stirred and then added enough water to make it moist like cake mix. I poured this over the graham cracker mixture and baked at 350 degrees until it was done. Here is how it looks.

brownies

The next thing I did was make a batch of pancakes a head of time. Al is a pancake lover. I buy frozen ones, blueberry for him but I like the added touch that shows him I think he is special.

This is what I did.

I took  Hungry Jack pancake mix. The kind you only add water. I poured out half of a new box into a bowl. I sliced up two bananas, added chocolate chips and some coconut. Then I added enough water to my eye’s liking.

Here is how these turned out, and by the way, I had to sample one of these. They do not even require syrup they are so yummy.

pancakespancakes to eatLastly, I wanted to thank Lezlie and Angel for the cards they sent Al yesterday. They were very nice. I took a photo of the cards he has received so far. Just a quick F.Y. I. if anyone wants to still send Al a card of get well or something cute, please email me at

tellmenolies2004@yahoo.com

I will be glad to send you his address.

Al's cards 2

 

Daily Prompt; Too Soon?


http://dailypost.wordpress.com, DP, Daily Prompt

Can anything be funny, or are some things off-limits?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us FUNNY.

Hearing someone fart is funny. We snicker, we blush, we leave our spot.

Seeing the fart is not funny.farts

Belching can be a hilarious sound.belch

Watching someone puke is not funny.

family-guy-puking-oEnjoying a family pet can be so much fun.

Knowing there is cruelty and animal abuse is not funny.

tumbler dogsHaving friends is wonderful and can provide the best laughter moments.class reunion

Bullying anyone is definitely not funny.

bullyingSeeing a baby giggle can be so much fun.

Rape is not funny. I have a video here that is very blunt. If you are weak and can not deal with it, you may not be able to watch it.

Living life can bring lots of laughter.

Suicide is not funny.

 

I put these particular videos, photos, cartoons and subjects on my post today to remind each of us we have choices.

There are so many more issues that I don’t even begin to have the space to go on.

Life can be full of love and laughter.

Life can also be very cruel and dangerous.

Thank-you for reading my post today on what is funny and what is not.