This Explains


There are two wonderful people, in my eyes, that are worth, tuning everything and everyone out, in order to hear every word, and those two people are, Joyce Meyers, and Dr. Charles Stanley.

I have emails sent to me from each of these people, and they are also on my Facebook.

You all know that I question why God lets the sick that have long illness remain on this earth and doesn’t take them home. It doesn’t seem fair to me, that they should be left behind to suffer, sometimes more than others.

Today, as I was reading my emails, I came across Dr. Stanley’s motivational, and it spoke directly to me. Now I am not going to kid myself and say that I understand every single word, especially, since Al, is unable to do so many things for himself. He can not get out and witness to neighbors, or travel across the oceans to help others, but he is a believer of God. What God’s purpose is for him, in his condition, I do not know, but after reading this, I know that I can be a little more patient, and accept God  has a purpose for Al’s suffering. There is a reason he has not taken him home.

I have allowed my mind to get too involved with every word that Al speaks of death. I get worried, and become more alert to his actions, in general, causing me more stress and grief. It is hard to not get involved, being his sister, and also being his caregiver, but I need to back off. Friends on here, have helped me come to realize, I can not worry, it helps none. I can not try to change his thoughts, they are not mine to change, but I can listen, and still have a life of my own in these four walls.

I will continue to write often about Al, because I need someone to share my concerns with, and yes, I will still worry, but it helps to get things off my chest, and be able to live through out my day. I need to hear your comments, and I need to feel your support, and if I don’t write about Al, I won’t get either, but I am glad that I came across this motivational, because on top of your help, this also has helped me.

God has a purpose for your life. If that weren’t true, He’d have taken you home to heaven at the moment of salvation. Do you ever wonder why He left you here?

The Lord intends to influence others through you. Our purpose is to be a vessel through which Christ overflows to others–touching those who hurt and desperately need a Savior. Once we are saved, Scripture teaches, our involvement is threefold.

First, we love others. Jesus clearly stated that this was one of the two greatest commandments (Matt. 22:38-39).

Second, we share the good news of salvation (Acts 1:8). Some travel across the world to spread the gospel, while others teach neighbors across the street. The Holy Spirit will direct us to the right people if we are willing to obey.

Third, we serve in a variety of ways, like helping those in need, sharing our resources, and lifting others in prayer. Jesus is our perfect example of all three. His entire life was marked by caring for people–both those who loved Him and those who did not. In fact, the Bible teaches that He humbled Himself and became like us, willing to give up His life for our redemption. There is no greater love; there is no greater act of service

The Holy Spirit depicted as a dove, surrounded...

The Holy Spirit depicted as a dove, surrounded by angels, by Giaquinto, 1750s. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

14 thoughts on “This Explains

  1. Terry…I too get Charles Stanley’s devotional email daily and I often find his words have meaning and that I can identify with…Recently when something happened and I was questioning things, the scripture he was giving that day I felt was directed at my circumstance and it was affirming to me and was very important. I like that he gives a scripture along with his thoughts….Glad that it helps you…Diane

    Like

  2. What you have written is so right on, Terry. I’m so glad you were helped and encouraged by Dr. Stanley. He is a good solid preacher of God’s Word. And the Lord is faithful to give us what we need at just the right time. Bless you.

    Like

    • thank you Diane. i gather that you also watch or listen to him? i think he is so real and down to earth, no big languages i can not understand, and preaches from the word

      Like

      • Terry, I don’t watch him but have seen his program in the past. I don’t have cable and so don’t get anything on my TV – just use it for movies. But I do know he is pretty solid in his teaching as is Joyce Meyer. You can’t go too far wrong listening to either of them. I know what you mean about understanding them. Years ago there was a Canadian with a TV program teaching the Word, but he was so highly educated what he said, though scriptural, often went over my head. I sometimes thought I should have a dictionary to look up the big words he used. I didn’t enjoy his messages. He probably reached intellectual types and university students better.

        Like

      • i don’t enjoy listening to people who make me have to digest words. i want to listen to people i can follow also. i guess u can tell i haven’t been to big colleges and had to learn those big time words???? lol

        Like

      • Terry, I have never been to college or university either. I know some big words but have never been in the habit of using them and don’t enjoy the feeling of too much formality when others use them as a habit. I like simple and believe the gospel was meant to be kept simple so everyone can understand it. 🙂

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.