Don’t Ever Do This to Me Again!


Scrambled Eggs Super!

Don’t you ever do this to me again, do you hear me? Today was something else. A day out of my routine. I had to get up at the crack of dawn and drive in the 16 degree temps and light snow flurries. I had to have my three-month blood draw.

I stopped at Al‘s  and my favorite restaurant and sat quietly and had breakfast. I was having  an impromptu conversation with God while I was eating my two scrambled eggs, bacon and two slices of whole-wheat toast.

I was telling him I should not have come here. It is just a reminder of what a loner I am. I want friends around when I am out, but I like solitude when I am home. Does this make any sense? I was telling God, this is ridiculous, I need to get up and go home.

Then suddenly someone said my name. I turned around and I was greeted with a big hug by a dear friend. She worked for years at my bank, but I don’t see her much anymore since she retired. We sat and talked for about an hour while she ordered and ate. I sipped my coffee and found myself just smiling and yakking a way. God is good. Once again he listened and answered my prayer.

I came home to my warm house and went to get on the internet and nothing. I ran my virus cleaners twice. I unplugged the wireless router three times. I turned off my PC twice and restarted it twice also. Finally I got a light bulb idea. Call the internet company.

You know the routine, automated answer people, never anyone real. The robot named off my phone number and I pushed the correct buttons in responses. It then said to me in monotone, We are having a  problem with the internet connections in your area. The technicians are aware of it and are working on as we speak. It will be on sometime before 8am on Friday.

Oh brother, what in the world am I going to do without my internet? What about my WP friends? My games on Facebook, my yahoo mail? I thought I was going to have a major meltdown.

I looked at the clock and it was almost time for the mid-day news and my only soap opera I watch. I have watched it since the day it started. The Young and the Restless. Guess what? It wasn’t on either. Some dumb basketball game was on and will continue for several hours. I know there are sports fans out there, and that is fine, but I am not one of them. No soap opera either? No internet? Oh my gosh!

I knew I had to do something. It was too cold to go anywhere, and I had no money to waste. For six months I have gazed at the shelves above my kitchen cupboards. This is where a lot of my antiques sit. I have colored indoor outdoor lights that light the entire shelves. I also knew that dust and grease from the stove were piling up. I figured any day the grease bunnies would pop their heads out and start laughing at me.

I tried one more time to get the internet and it was a no go. Darn, darn. I got up and got the vinegar water with a touch of dish soap and took each piece down and wiped them shiny again and cleaned the wrap-a-round shelves. I cleaned off the top of the refrigerator and cleaned my antique bowls and miniature antique animal collections.

I couldn’t stop there. I was on a roll by now. I did sit to rest a minute and checked the internet again, nope nothing. Darn I have to keep on trucking. I stripped my bed and washed the sheets and re-made the bed. I took my bedroom curtains down along with all the living room curtains and washed them. I washed my bedroom window and when the laundry was done I rehung them. I totally changed the curtains in my bedroom.

Since it used to be my brother’s bedroom there were blue checked curtains hanging. Now they are clean, folded and placed in a closet. I now have white blinds with white shears and a pretty pink print valance. Looks much more feminem now.

I steam-mopped the tiles in my kitchen and hallway and bathrooms. I ended up sweeping the entire house. Darn, I was pooped. My feet were burning. I had no feelings left in my toes. It was time to sit and rub my feet trying to gain some feeling and burn relief.

I sat down at the computer naturally. Ya I know, no internet, but I had to try. It has now been eight hours and I feel like I am having with draws. I take my shoes and socks off and rub my feet back to some feeling. I put my shoes and socks back on and try one more time.

Yippee, I have internet. You would have thought I won the lottery.  I yelled in joy. I started to play one game and I received a text from my son. They were inviting me, their mom to supper. Oh yeah, I sure will go. To be with people and better yet family, hot dog!!!

We ate at Golden Coral. I had a super sized salad and a small dish of ice-cream for dessert. Then we went to Wal-Mart. I bought a new shower curtain for my now new bathroom. It is very colorful. I am not quite sure what colors they are as I am color-blind, but my daughter-in-law said it was a thumbs up color.

The best came at the end as it usually does. Since the grandkids went to the toy section I thought I would check out the cars Al loves. He had been telling me about this one car he saw on an outing. It was like the owner of Pawn Stars  had. It was green. My son said, No Mom, it isn’t green. It is aqua blue. Whatever, it was green to me. LOL. I bought it for him and got two more cars that are the coolest unique antique police cars. I am saving those for his birthday in May. The aqua blue one? I am definitely taking it to him tomorrow. Oh wow, I can’t wait. He is going to smile so big, I hope.

So a big day of work work work. Internet don’t ever do that to me again. Cleaning upper shelves and antiques should be saved for some other type of day!

51 thoughts on “Don’t Ever Do This to Me Again!

  1. I find it really hard to get up and get motivated to clean BUT once I am up and doing something really delicate and finickity (small) then I find I need to do something else and something else and all of a sudden I have a cleaning bug and the whole house is done… it’s a shame being as fat pregnant bellied as I am these moments are unfortunately a rare occasion these days.

    Like

    • I am the same way about cleaning. Once I get motivated and off my chair, I am busy until I can no longer walk!! LOL
      You are going to have a precious little one………….Congratulations my friend!!!!!!

      Like

      • I had to go back and look at my comment I had sent you because i couldn’t remember what I wrote! Oh my! But thank you very much for my congratulations 🙂 we have hopefully about 12 weeks left until little Ava arrives so fingers crossed! 🙂

        Like

  2. I have internet withdrawal …when it’s out…I’m at a loss…but, I have to admit…I get so much more done…I know Al will love the car…what a neat surprise!…when does Al come home??? just wondering

    Like

  3. WOW talk about gettingthe spring cleaning out of the way …what a great idea now when the rest of us are doing ours you can smile like a cheshire kitten knowing yours was done today. I so wish for you that your pain would go away, I wish for you to be not so alond=e but it sounds like God truly blessed you today and Al is going to be thrilled with his new car! hugs my friend (((Terry)))

    Like

  4. Funny how the cleaning fremzy happens unplanned. Sounds like a good all round day….and you were never alone….even before your friend showed up….you were in very good Company. And He was listening! 😉 (hope your feet feel better….epsom salts in warm water!) paula

    Like

    • Very true.My feet hurt a little this morning when I stood on the floor for the first time, but I have this good feeling also. That part of Spring Cleaning is done!!! LOL

      Like

  5. If there’s one thing that makes me want to climb the walls it’s the internet going down – especially because I can’t find much else to do other than cross-stitch!

    Glad to hear that you and Al are both doing well though x

    Like

  6. even if my internet went down there is no way i would get so much done! bravo to you for having such a good attitude and making the best of your day. sounds like you were well rewarded with a visit with a friend and time with your family:) hope you and al have a great day tomorrow.

    Like

  7. Well at least it was productive! I know you don’t want hear that stuff. Books , girl , books! Remember those? That’s what we did before the internet! I’m going to an old book sale in a little while that our library puts on. Thousands of books for 50 cents to a dollar. yeehaw!!!

    Like

  8. I am cancelling today. i have a grotty cold and the one day i would like to sleep all day my neighbours decide do some DIY. I just keep looking at those dusty shelves and i keep thinking maybe tomorrow. Maybe a day without my computer would be my tomorrow but i’m not praying for it.

    Like

  9. Amazing what we can accomplish when we do not have internet!! LOL Bless your heart, glad you had a productive day and found a special treat for Al. BTW I am like you I like friends around me when I am out but home is my respite from the crazy chaotic world! 😉 I guess my refuge – home is so comforting.

    Like

  10. Initially when the Internet goes down we think – OMG, what will I possibly do with my time? Then we find out – we do something with out time that benefits us greatly. Congrats on being disconnected for awhile Terry!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.