Daily Prompt; Art Appreciation


Painted Doll

Antiques Sign

http://dailypost.wordpress.com, Daily Post,   Daily Prompt, DP

Do you need to agree with an artist’s lifestyle or politics to appreciate their art? To spend money on it?

I believe beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. I love antique paintings and wall hangings. I would never find myself in a modern art museum. I can’t understand the crazy swirls and blotches.

I have seen them before on TV and imagine myself just taking a paint brush and throwing paint on a canvas. Or maybe dipping my hands in a rag or even my bare hands making something according to my mood.

I like the Victorian era as I have stated before. Give me some children, or kittens or maybe dogs and I will be happy. Victorian houses with wide molding speak to me as I venture through each room.

Give me some history about the photo. Who painted it? Was the beautiful house ever lived in by some famous poet at one time? Is the house said to be haunted? The history is something that to me is the icing on the cake of the picture.

If I happened to be somewhere and saw a man sitting on a stool putting his talent to work I would stop and watch in awe. If he had a sign that said he was trying to feed his family, I would be more eager to buy it. Not for the picture but to help not let his kids to starve.

So to me, it is the history, or the situation of the art piece. There are various reasons I would buy it. Even if my friends didn’t like it or some mocked it, I would remember in my heart the story behind the work.

So no, it has nothing to do with agreeing or politics for this gal.

 

Remigiusstrasse Viersen - Victorian house (1)

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt; Art Appreciation

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.