Good News First, Then The Other News


Good News First, Then The Other News

I blogged a bit ago about my brand new book on the market called Dahlia. That was the best news for me.

Now the second news update. This is about Al. Today has been an iffy day. Al woke up at seven this morning breathing very heavy. The shower lady and my caregiver came at eight. Al was still breathing pretty rough.

It wasn’t long until the nurse arrived. She noticed his one lung was swollen with…

View On WordPress

Dahlia, My Book is Here


Dahlia, My Book is Here

Dahlia front coverDahlia back coverI am so proud and happy to announce that my book is now available for sale. It is now on Create Space and will be out within a week on Amazon.

I stand here proud as I have completed the one task that I have wanted to do for so  many years. I wanted to leave my children a legacy. A slice of who I am and what I represent in life; and now I have finished it.

I want to thank Diane Stephenson for the…

View On WordPress

Healthy Turkey Meat Loaf


turkey meat loaf

 

 

 

 

 

Servings: 4-5 Servings
Difficulty: Easy

Ingredients

½ medium head cauliflower, cut into small florets
1/2 cup chicken broth
1 ½ teaspoon canola oil
1 small chopped onion
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 ½ pounds 85 % lean ground turkey
1 1/4 teaspoons salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
¼ cup chopped parsley
1/2 cup quick-cooking oats
2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese

Topping:
1/3 cup ketchup
1 tablespoon dijon mustard

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Cover a sheet tray with foil.

Add the cauliflower florets to a small saucepan and cover with the chicken broth. Cover the pot with a lid. Simmer until tender. Add cauliflower to a blender along with the broth ½ cup broth. Blend until smooth, scraping sides of blender as necessary. Let cool. The cauliflower will thicken as it cools down.

Heat oil in a large non stick sauté pan. Once shimmering, sauté onion and garlic until just softened. Remove to a large bowl to cool. Once cool, add pureed cauliflower, turkey, salt, pepper, parsley, quick cooking oats, and Parmesan cheese. Mix all meatloaf ingredients well. Shape into a loaf on the prepared sheet tray.  In a small bowl, mix together the ketchup and mustard and brush on top of the loaf.

Bake for 45 minutes, until cooked through. Rest for 5 minutes before slicing.

Good News First, Then The Other News


I blogged a bit ago about my brand new book on the market called Dahlia. That was the best news for me.

Now the second news update. This is about Al. Today has been an iffy day. Al woke up at seven this morning breathing very heavy. The shower lady and my caregiver came at eight. Al was still breathing pretty rough.

It wasn’t long until the nurse arrived. She noticed his one lung was swollen with fluids. We all stood around his bed as the nurse checked him over. She stated Al’s lungs are very rattly and crackly.

His hands were swollen as usual but there was graying on the top of both hands along with blue and grey nails. The nurse could find no pulse and there was no way to get his blood pressure as the rattle was too loud. The heart could not be heard through the stethoscope.  They always check his oxygen levels. One side finger checked 74 and the opposite side finger checked out at 65. A perfect o2 is 97-100.  His  heart rate was 214 beats per minute.

He tried very hard to talk all day but all we could get out of what he was saying was that he was dying. He had a high temperature this morning and we have been battling this issue now for ten days. He had one spot on his foot that the nurse questioned whether it was mottling or not. This is a term used at the end of life when the skin becomes grey in color.

For today I am living in the minute. It is not unusual for Al to bounce back a bit, but he never goes back to the state he was prior to the new decline. I don’t know what tomorrow will bring, but for now, he is breathing and sleeping.

He is only eating two or three bites of food and taking very little water. My heart is breaking. I know it is best he leaves me, but my heart is open-wide with pain and sorrow. My prayers continue for him and I keep reminding myself God is in complete control. All I can do is love Al and comfort  him with my love and medications.

There was good news today with my new book, Dahlia, at Create Space and in the same heart there is fear and sorrow for my brother.

rhino

Dahlia, My Book is Here


Dahlia front coverDahlia back coverI am so proud and happy to announce that my book is now available for sale. It is now on Create Space and will be out within a week on Amazon.

I stand here proud as I have completed the one task that I have wanted to do for so  many years. I wanted to leave my children a legacy. A slice of who I am and what I represent in life; and now I have finished it.

I want to thank Diane Stephenson for the many hours and time she spent helping me with my project. In the Acknowledgements I thanked each of you, my blogging friends.

I just had to let you be the first to know about this exciting news in my life. Now on with my other two books I am writing on. Thank-you for all of your support.

Mysterious Dog and Cat Story, A True Story in My Home


Mysterious Dog and Cat Story, A True Story in My Home

DSC00324rhino 4These two animals, one fat cat, Rhino, and one tiny, miniature bull-dog are the topics of this post. The stories of these two are similar but yet different.

Rhino is a determined cat. At one point there was a mouse in the house. I had not seen him prior but Rhino discovered him. I saw this fat little creature with my flashlight. He was walking the electrical wire that was in a very narrow…

View On WordPress