Picture It & Write; Blind Sight Edition


http://ermiliablog.wordpress.compictureitandwrite2copy-1seventies photo

The picture in my mind

Resembles this photo

I came across

Racing up the steps

Once again from school

Running back down the steps

To be with my friends

Slumber parties, skate-a-thons, driving my new second-hand car

My boyfriend walks up to meet my parents for the first time

My family walking down together to go to church

Walking slowly down as we attend funerals of loved ones.

Watching Daddy walking up the stairs coming home from work

Where have all the days gone

Have I really gotten older?

Am I all grown up

Now I sit here with this picture in my mind

Smiling as I travel down memory lane

If only I could reach out and touch

Mommy and Daddy’s hands once again.

 

Terry Shepherd

03/17/2013

20 thoughts on “Picture It & Write; Blind Sight Edition

  1. Striking, Terry. That one question, where have all the days gone. I don’t know how often I remember being a child, as if it were just yesterday, looking back. Very lovely.

    Like

  2. Aw, what a sweet ending. I loved it! Great work, Terry. So very nostalgic. Time flies, right? Thanks for contributing this week to Picture it & write. 🙂

    – Ermisenda

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.