Cold-Hearted Miss Priss


“You know Ann, my Mother-In-Law is just one big pain in the ass”

Blah, blah, blah

” She just wants attention, so she bugs the hell out of us. She sits in that wheelchair and ask for anything she can think of. Honey can you get me my handkerchief? Honey, can you get me a cold glass of water? Honey, can you get me out of this hard chair and into something more comfortable. My tailbone is starting to hurt.”

Blah, blah, blah.

“You know Ann. She is just asking for pity. She better ask Marge to be her slave next time there is a party going on. Why, I could hardly mingle at the party. I didn’t go there to wait on someone who can turn those wheels herself.”

My brother had a doctor‘s appointment today. As usual we sat and Al slept in his chair. A woman with a matching outfit and purse plus jewelry walked in for her appointment. She was talking on her hot-pink cell phone and went on with her talk after announcing she had arrived.

I don’t consider it eavesdropping since she didn’t even lower  her voice. I was ashamed of her. A woman with her social status, speaking like this.

At one point she looked at me and gave me one of those fake smiles and then glanced at Al. Her glance stayed on him as she chattered like a Barbie Doll. I leaned over to her and asked. ” Is something on my brother’s face?”

She looked at me and said, “no honey, I don’t see anything, why?”

“Oh I just noticed you watching him so intently, I thought he had a bloody nose or something. He is here to  for an appointment also. I wouldn’t want to take him in if he looked less than presentable.”

She looked at me with that pasted smile and then went back to her conversation.

Soon the nurse came out to the lobby. She called Al’s name. I waited and Al didn’t move. The nurse called him again. Then I got up and pushed him to his room.  I mentioned to the doctor that it was very difficult to get him into doctor’s appointments on my own. I asked him if he made house calls.

He laughed like Santa Clause, “Oh no, I don’t have enough time to make house calls. I believe that went out years ago.”

” Do you know anyone who may consider my request?”

“No.”

I found it odd that people can be so cold. It isn’t that I expected this doctor to actually make a house call. It is the fact that he had no compassion for our circumstances and laughed me off.snoot

The lady out in the waiting room, Miss Priss? I hope to God that when it is my turn to need help I don’t get any of her relatives as my caregiver.

One


manI have waited so long

For a look like this

The shivers down my spine

Your passionate kiss

 

I have waited so long

For you to walk into my life

To have you love me

And ask me to be your wife

 

I have waited so long

Almost giving up hope

And then our eyes met

I could let go of the rope

 

And now we are here

And I am walking toward you

Making love is my desire

Is all I want to do

 

I can feel my heart racing

As I step closer to you hun

Your eyes drink in my body

And together we become one.

Written by,

Terry Shepherd

07/22/2013

 

Daily Prompt; The Stat Connection


http://dailypost.wordpress.com/, DP, Daily Prompt

Go to your Stats page and check your top 3-5 posts. Why do you think they’ve been successful? Find the connection between them, and write about it.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us CONNECTIONS.

This was interesting. I have never really checked this part of my blog out. I did learn what my top three post are. In order they are;

https://terry1954.wordpress.com/

Please Give Me Your Input

Poor Al

My Heart Melted At What I Saw

My Own Death Becomes Me

I guess the reason that these are my top posts are because they are about human lives, living on a daily basis. Life is not always easy, as most of us know.

I was brought up with fairy tales that we girls will find our prince and live happily ever after. Once I grew up and got married. The learning how to get along with a spouse came into the picture. Having babies and realizing your time is now not your own. Learning that you can love a child more than you could ever love yourself. Learning to be thankful for what is on your plate. We don’t realize and take it for granted that life goes on forever.

Our parents will always be here. Siblings will get along with each other, our kids will play with each other. They will grow up and get married and we will go to many weddings.

No one told me that death, sickness, sadness, poverty, jealousy, and hatred could all play out in our chapters of life. No one could ever convince me that I would fight with the devil about my belief and faith in God.

No one explained to me that you can’t continue to eat as an older adult the way I did when I was a teenager. That my bedtime would change from 1am to 10pm. I hadn’t heard about Arthritis, Diabetes, and aches and pains when I was growing up. I had a lot to learn, and I feel like I am learning each day forward.

Maybe the reason my posts are read by so many is because I am just a simple, plain woman and sister living my life in a small town in rural America. I have no jingles and no jangles. It is just me. The oldest of three , mother of three, Grandma of 8, and I don’t wear make-up.

I don’t use drugs unless they are legal and then you have to force them down my throat. I don’t drink. I do smoke, gosh darn it, cigarettes that is. I have a simple hair-cut and I like shorts and Tees.

There was once upon a time when I could not leave the house without each hair in place and my face on, but today, it isn’t happening. Being a caregiver requires many hard hours. Included in those hours are cooking and cleaning. Laundry and down on my knees cleaning up the kitchen floor. Scrubbing the toilets, cleaning the sinks. Changing wet beds, and wiping dirty butts. Emptying the trash, bathing and dressing. Feeding and nurturing, drying the tears, being a good listener. Being a taxi, keeping appointments, bookkeeping, finances, bill payer.

Wow, I am beat already. Is this why you read my post and follow me? Because I am just one plain Jane gal who loves people and has a heart that can feel many emotions?

It has been an honor and a gift to be able to write here at WordPress. The gift of friendship has been more than anything I could have dreamed of. Support comes in buckets, and tissues are offered for my many tears. Cards in the mail, face to face visits. Gifts sent to Al, Christmas gifts exchanged. Phone calls and emails received. How much luckier could this country girl get from the land of corn in Indiana.

Thanks everyone for being fantastic, and most of all for being my special friends.Al with Rhinomy mom and dadalvin and me