A Joker’s Fool


I looked back

And I saw you

Following me

Laughing you

Stayed in my

Footsteps while

You thought you

Had me you

Were so wrong

For I have had

Many life lessons

And learned that

I am not the one

In charge but

My God he leadeth

Me into all

Understanding

So I will

Never look back

Again nor shall

I see your silhouette

My eyes will

See no specks

For they will be clear

You had your chance

But a fool you were

To believe that you

Could possibly

Out smart  the almighty one

Now be on your way

Be seen no more

For I have the shield

Of Christ walking

By my side.

Written by

Terry Shepherd

06/19/2013joker

Daily Prompt; Tagline


http://dailypost.wordpress.com, DP, Daily Prompt

Often, our blogs have taglines. But what if humans did, too? What would your tagline be?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us ADVERTISING.

Oh wow, is this the time when I can let loose and brag on myself? You say it is? Oh my, what can I say about myself. Should I go way back? Back to the days when saddle shoes were hip? Or maybe back to five years ago when I was my own boss?

Alright, let’s see here. Let me give taglines about me, considered a human, who walks and takes up little space on this big, big earth.

Let’s start with witty. Yes, witty. Believe it or not, there was a time when I was quite witty. What is witty do you ask? I will be happy to tell you.

Witty means;

possessing wit in speech or writing; amusingly clever in perception and expression: a witty writer.
Some times you can see it in my writing when I make my stories about life and add humor to it. I know, you are asking when was that? Well, just go back and look. You can actually find them, I swear it’s true.
 
Another tagline may be, philosopher. I hear you laughing. I swear it is the biggest personality trait I claim as my own. Is your definition different from mine?
 
Philosopher;

a person who offers views or theories on profound questions in ethics, metaphysics, logic, and other related fields.
 
I am always trying to write from the other person’s heart. I imagine myself in their shoes, their life, their circumstances. I try to figure out a way to help others by offering things to think about, a new idea, or maybe to just let them know I care.
 
One more tagline may be story-teller. I do have confidence to a point that I can write a story. Oh come now, everyone can write a story, tell a story, or even make up a story. What is a story-teller?
 
1.

a person who tells or writes stories or anecdotes.
2.

a person who tells more or less trivial falsehoods; fibber.
 
Now there is one thing about me that I am not, and that is number two. I am not a fibber, but sometimes I don’t tell the truth either. Instead, I just don’t answer. I absolutely hate hurting others feelings. It would just kill me to know that I turned your sunny day into clouds.sunshine_meditation
I think the last tagline I will use is Christian. Yes friends, I must stop here. I don’t want you to think that any of this tagging would ever go to my head.
 
Oh you say you are a Christian too? How wonderful, I love having Christian friends. What is a Christian? You have always wondered but were afraid to ask? Here, let me explain.
 
1.

of, pertaining to, or derived from Jesus Christ or His teachings: a Christian faith.
2.

of, pertaining to, believing in, or belonging to the religion based on the teachings of Jesus Christ: Spain is a Christian country.
3.

of or pertaining to Christians: many Christian deaths in the Crusades.
4.

exhibiting a spirit proper to a follower of Jesus Christ; Christlike: She displayed true Christian charity.
5.

decent; respectable: They gave him a good Christian burial.
 
Now don’t think of me as a big snooty person. I have many friends who are not Christians. I have friends who believe there is no God at all. And I ask myself, who am I to judge? This is not my job.
 
We all meet for different reasons. Some of us cross paths because we are needed in each others lives. Others are passing through the night but end up staying day after day. I believe we are all here for a specific reason, so I try to always keep an open mind and ask for God’s protection to always keep me safe. You just never know when you may meet a wolf in sheep’s clothing.
 
Well, I guess this is about it. I have bragged on myself enough. Actually this was a truly difficult write for me. I do not make it a habit to  take a good look at myself and have to figure out what may or may not be my good or weak points.
 
Did you enjoy your walk with me on a few chapters of my life? One little secret, that I haven’t told anyone. You over there in Switzerland, or you in Africa, and you over here next to my state, or my friends in the South, oh, and you in New York and California; lean in and believe me when I whisper in your ear. You light up each of my days. I am so lucky to have wonderful friends.
 
Alright, let’s all hold hands and take a bow. One, Two, Three, Bow.
 
 

Another Rock In The Road, Prayers Needed


I wonder what life would be like if I was not a believer in Christ. Would that red-horned creature leave me alone? Would I be able to do what ever I pleased in life with no consequences, or maybe no conscience?

Just when I think I am climbing the mountain and I see the top not too far off, I stumble over a rock again and come tumbling down.

Each time though there is a branch hanging over a cliff and I am able to precisely curve my body over and catch it, hanging on for dear life and calling out to God.branch

I have everything running smooth. I have done all I have been asked to do. I even bought the groceries for Al today. I am so proud that I finally got this task done and forgot nothing.

I received a phone call from the waiver people asking me to call the bus company to arrange for Al to be picked up and brought home.

The first response on their side was pretty much negative. No time, no extra spaces. As we talked longer and longer she and I clicked.

In the end she ended up telling me she would make a phone call to the lady working from the day program and see what hours were available and she said she would make something work out.

I knew that there was a chance that Al may not actually go in at 8:30 am as there are many wheel chair riders and not enough  buses. It goes on and on. I have to remember that this is a big company.

Then the bomb fell. She told me that the community I live in is a place they are not welcome to bring the buses back into. She said the owner is something else and that  he is mean and rough and I have to agree. I can remember back to last summer when we had the wheel chair ramp built for Al. The owner stopped by and told me I had to tear it down immediately.

Now I knew that I wasn’t going  down  without a fight. He and I argued, he threatened to kick me out that night. I knew he could not legally do this over night but I just really didn’t need the hassle from him.

I understand that he is mad at the world. His wife was placed in a nursing home last winter and he has been mean and an ugly monster ever since.ugly-hamsters2 He will come by and practically measure my grass that grows around the bottom of the ramp.

Oh don’t get me wrong. He isn’t just picking on me, he picks on who ever is near him on any day. I just get tired of the fight.

Now this is where I asked the question in the beginning. Is God constantly testing me to see what direction I will take? If I didn’t believe in God would I be faced with all these challenges? I will not turn my back on God no matter what, or I should say I hope I never do.

I will fight this battle  for the life of my brother. I know that I can not get him in the car and down to the main gate every single morning alone. I need that bus. It will make it easier and safer for Al to go straight down the ramp onto the bus ramp.

I have called the owner’s assistant manager and I am waiting for him to stop by. He is out here in the neighborhood. I have a little more faith in him than the owner. At least he smiles. But on the other hand he will have to run it pass the owner.

I need a written letter giving permission for the bus to stop here at the house. What I really need is tons of prayers to turn this monster into a prince and say yes. Can you help me by sending lots of prayers?prince

The Cow Jumped Over The Moon


When we were little and couldn’t go to sleep we were told to count sheepcounting-sheep-karen-aune. If that didn’t work we could be asked to count the cows jumping over the moon.cow-jumping-over-the-moon While we laid there believing that what our parents said was gold, we would see shadows bouncing on the walls.shadows on walls Or maybe we would see big scary things under our bed.

Now that we are all grown up, what can you think of that we could do or see when we can’t sleep?

Maybe it could be images of bills.scary bills Maybe it would be stress at work.stress at work

Or maybe we would dream of a vacation together.laying on beach Or maybe a trunk filled with gold coins.TREASURE_CHEST_s Or maybe we would dream of our wedding dress we would wear one day.wedding dress

What would put you to sleep quickly and have a restful night?