7 in 1 Award


http://transcendingbordersblog.wordpress.com. This wonderful blogger has nominated me for 7 in 1 awards.

Here is a little bit about Trans if you have not already checked out her blog site.

THE RULES FOR 7 IN 1 AWARD:

1-Answer 10 random questions.

2-Nominate 10 other bloggers for the award and link their blog sites.

3-Notify the bloggers of their awards.

4-Ask the award winners the 10 questions when they accept their award.

QUESTIONS:

1-Do you have a goal in life?

Yes, I just finished writing my book, looking to get it published!

2-City or Countryside?

City!

3-What was the last word you looked up in the dictionary?

Honestly, I have a grammar dictionary installed on my computer, it corrects the mistakes!

4-If you had a time machine where would you go?

The Victorian Era!

5-Pirate or Vampire?

Pirate.

6-Are you easily satisfied or do you keep working to obtain something?

The latter!

7 Sweet or Savory?

Sweet!

8-Do you believe in Karma?

Yes, absolutely!

9-Which is your favorite comedy movie?

Honestly, I only watch suspense thrillers!

10-Fantasy or Sci-Fi?

Fantasy!

Here are the 7 awards I received tonight.

wonderful team awardsunshine-awardliebster-blog-2super-sweet-blogging-award21dragonsloyaltyaward1shine on awardBest-Moment-AwardMy nominations are;

Vicki (from Victoria A Photography)
victoriaaphotography.wordpress.com

parrillaturi
parrillaturi.wordpress.com

tersiaburger
tersiaburger.wordpress.com

allegoricaldiamond
allegoricaldiamond.wordpress.com

becky6259
becky6259.wordpress.com

Lady Lovely
ladylovelyblogger.wordpress.com

Thank-you again!!!!!

Mama Always Taught Me


Mama always taught me

To never be rude

To keep my mouth quietrose

Too eat all my food.

Mama always taught me

To turn the other cheek

To let mean words pass me by

To turn and retreat.

Mama always taught me

To be a lady and smile

To keep my elbows off the table

And to only weep for a while.

Mama never taught me

That life could be cold

That friends could  turn

That I would one day grow old.

Mama never taught me

How to stand on my own

To stand up for my rights

Honestly, I was never shown.

Mama never taught me

That my heart could be hurt

That the marriage could break

That I should stay awake and alert.

Mama never taught me

About sickness and death

How worry makes you old

That I should turn right and not left.

Mama always taught me

To love each soul

To help when I can

To make me a whole.

Mama never taught me

How I would feel when she would die

How empty I would feel

Or how to keep the tears out of my eyes.

Terry Shepherd

05/21/2013

What Others Say Can Harm You


Bay to Breakers "AmBEERlance". A keg...

Bay to Breakers “AmBEERlance”. A kegger a day keeps the pain away. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today I went to see Al. He was listening to his coca cola bottle radio with his headphones. He was in a pretty good mood. When it came time to take him potty before lunch he all of a sudden got bad leg pains. He started to whimper and I observed the one absolutely fabulous aide took her time with him. They accomplished the deed and he was to push himself out of his room and head down to lunch.

He was still whimpering from the pain so he stopped at the Nurse Station and asked for a pain pill. A nurse, over the weekend  informed me that Al had not been requesting PRN pain  medications for some time. I was happy to hear that the new increase of his pain patch was still working.

While waiting for the nurse to give him his medication I made a comment that I was so pleased that Al had not been asking for more pills. She got in his file and said,”Who told you that?”

“Rachel”

“Well it says right here he asked for PRN medications on the average of one to two times each day.”

She began telling me the times and days. Once again I had been duped by that stupid Nurse. I am sorry, I shouldn’t call her that, but I can’t help it.

Al was fine while we were at lunch. He was cutting up and smiling. He is usually in a good mood on Tuesdays as he gets to get out of there for the afternoon. His  driver takes him to an outing or to the Day  Program.

The driver arrived and when Al was trying to release the manual brakes of his wheelchair, he wasn’t strong enough. He started to whimper and feel embarrassed. I hated myself at that moment, because I started to freak.

We were in front of everyone. Here he was jabbering on and on how he was stupid and couldn’t make the wheelchair go. I tried to reason with him and explain about taking the chance of getting too upset and being placed back in isolation.

He wasn’t listening to me. He was too into what he could not do. I took him down to his room and washed his hands and face from lunch. I was still using different tactics to calm him down. His tremors were as busy as a bee. He was teary eyed all the way to the front door.

The problem here is what the facility has done to my emotions over this past weekend. I don’t like freaking out because Al doesn’t like it that he can’t do things he used to. The plain old truth is that because he is out of the lock down room, his PD is still very active.

He isn’t going to feel any better physically. I am just trying to gear his mind to other places, but in the end, the facility has made me feel very vulnerable. Are they going to put him back in isolation? Is he going to say he wants to die again? I am worried. I don’t want him to have to go back there or be kicked out.

I kicked myself all the way out the front door. I watched him being loaded and as I left in my car I prayed he settled down. I have to stop being afraid, but I don’t know how. I am not afraid for me or to speak up to this rotten place, I am afraid for Al.